clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

V5's Postseason Blogger Award Ballot, Cam Newton Takes the Heisman

Our Buffalo sister site UB Bull Run is hosting the SBN College Blogger Awards, and wanted to throw in my two cents as well. Below are my selections for each award.


  1. Cam Newton, QB Auburn
  2. Andrew Luck, QB Stanford
  3. LaMichael James, RB Oregon

I don't care how much money Cecil Newton tried to grab from anyone, Cam Newton was the best player in the nation this year and he deserves the Heisman. Andrew Luck was a distant second, but he edges out LaMichael James.

Coach of the Year:

  1. Chip Kelly, Oregon
  2. Mark D'Antonio, Michigan State
  3. Jim Harbaugh, Stanford

Who else can win this award? Oregon destroyed every team put in front of them this season. D'Antonio comes in 2nd for Michigan State not pulling a Michigan State. Anyone who can win 11 games at Stanford deserves a place on this ballot.

Bednarik Award (Defensive POY)

  1. Luke Kuechly, Boston College
  2. Da'Quan Bowers, Clemson
  3. Prince Amukamara, Nebraska

Anyone with 171 tackles deserves this award. It'll be interesting how USF handles Bowers in the MCCB.

O'Brien Award (Best QB)

  1. Cam Newton, Auburn
  2. Andrew Luck, Stanford
  3. Kellen Moore, Boise State

The best player should win his position award shouldn't he? Moore gets in right before TCU's Furious Ginger Andy Dalton.

Walker Award (Best RB)

  1. LaMichael James, Oregon
  2. Jordan Todman, Connecticut
  3. Kendall Hunter, Oklahoma State

James wins this one going away. Todman is the main reason UConn won the Big East, and Hunter helped bring the Pokes back to the national spotlight.

Bilentikoff Award (Best WR)

  1. Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma State
  2. Alshon Jeffery, South Carolina
  3. Julio Jones, Alabama

It's Blackmon, and then everyone else. Ryan Broyles and Leonard Hankerson were both considered as well.

Mackey Award (Best TE)

  1. Michael Egnew, Missouri
  2. Ladarius Green, UL-Lafayette
  3. Lance Kendricks, Wisconsin

Outland Award (Best OL)

  1. Gabe Carimi, Wisconsin
  2. Nate Solder, Colorado
  3. Rodney Hudson, Florida State

Hendricks Award (Best DE)

  1. Da'Quan Bowers, Clemson
  2. Adrian Clayborn, Iowa
  3. Jabaal Sheard, Pitt

Thorpe Award (Best DB)

  1. Prince Amukamara, Nebraska
  2. Mark Barron, Alabama
  3. Cliff Harris, Oregon

Butkus Award (Best LB)

  1. Luke Kuechly, Boston College
  2. Von Miller, Texas A&M
  3. Nate Irving, North Carolina State

Groza Award (Best Kicker)

  1. Dan Bailey, Oklahoma State
  2. Dan Conroy, Michigan State
  3. Alex Henery, Nebraska

Thought about putting Maikon Bonani in there. Maybe next season.

Guy Award (Best Punter)

  1. Chas Henry, Florida
  2. Ryan Donahue, Iowa
  3. Rob Long, Syracuse

What do you guys think.