clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Aksel Olsen Named AAC Men's Golf Player of the Year

Another day, another conference player of the year. Men's Golf senior Aksel Olsen became the third USF athlete this season to take home AAC Player of the year on the back of a dominant season. #SpringOfRings

Aksel Olsen just earned another player of the year award for USF's growing trophy cabinet.
Aksel Olsen just earned another player of the year award for USF's growing trophy cabinet.

First it was Roberto Cid in Men's Tennis. Then it was Juli Weber in softball. Now USF Golf's Aksel Olsen has had his name called as the top of the AAC.

South Florida now boasts three AAC Players of the Year in the same season across all spring sports. The #SpringOfRings movement is in full effect as the teams continue to rack up hardware,

The Norwegian senior picked up five top-ten finishes this season and two title wins, including shooting a career low 67 to win the Querencia Cabo Collegiate in Mexico this past March. He was also named a Nicklaus Award semifinalist, the Heisman-type award for the nation's top golfer.

While Olsen is the third player of the year for USF this spring, head coach Steven Bradley was the third coach on staff from USF to take home AAC Coach of the Year.

It's well deserved as Bradley's team dominated their way to a second consecutive AAC championship. The team finished in the top five in eight out of eleven tournaments this season, including bringing home four first-place victories. They currently sit #15 in the nation according to the GolfStat rankings and will be the three seed in the Albuquerque Regional later this month.

The Bulls wouldn't have had such a successful season if it wasn't for an all-around team effort, which the AAC recognized as USF bore the more All-Conference selections than any other school.

All-Conference Team

Manuel Elvira, UCF, So.
Donnie Trosper, UCF, Fr.
Eric Dietrich, UConn, Jr.
Wes Conover, East Carolina, Sr.
Jacob Hicks, East Carolina, Sr.
Michael Perras, Houston, So.
Thomas Perrot, Memphis, Sr.
Lars van Meijel, Memphis, Jr.
Claudio Correa, USF, So.
Rigel Fernandes, USF, Jr.
Chase Koepka, USF, Sr.
Aksel Olsen, USF, Sr.

Austin Smotherman, SMU, Sr.
Brandon Matthews, Temple, Sr.